lovingfoodlovinglife<3

all about the joys of life…

Easter holidays (2) April 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anchan-Lee @ 3:43 pm

Good evening all you beautiful people!
While browsing through the April issue of Pick ‘n Pay’s Fresh Living magazine I came across the “Picks of the Bunch” and wow! Pure awesomeness
I know I’m a bit out of it but during Easter holidays we, love our pickled fish and hot cross buns. And I really want to share this with you. You might just want to use it in future. One never knows 😉
This made me think about tradition and how we’re so used to doing certain things. We simply grow into the habit of doing the things we’re used to. Thinking about the quote I read once, “tradition is living forth the habit of dead people” or something like that!
Well, my explanation of this, pickled fish with hot cross buns is, simply this:
Remember the story about Jesus feeding four thousand men? Well, His disciples had seven loafs and a few small fish. He ended up feeding four thousand men. Excluding the women and children! Just shows what faith can do. God really provides. Matthew 15: 32-39- truly inspiring made me think about all the things I’m greatful for and how God really came through for me in so many ways in my life.
Well, this is how the story lives on for us (mostly in the coloured community) or at least that’s what I know. Just correct me if I’m wrong. The pickled fish and the hot cross buns.
Moving on, well I must say that I’m not a big lover of hot cross buns. Simply because I don’t really like raisins in my food. Weird, I know. Strange enough, I actually thought about trying it out because what’s the worst thing that can happen, right? Ha-ha!
And bam! There it was…
5 ways with hot cross buns by Caroline Gardner: (this is for those of you who, like me, don’t like hot cross buns that much)
1. Hot cross bun and apple crumble
Here you just mix diced drained canned apples with raisins and spoon it into an oven proof dish. Then you blitz buns that are a day old into fine crumbs with mixed all spice and brown sugar. To finish off you then just scatter the crumbs over the apples and drizzle with honey before baking until cooked through and golden.

2. Easter tarts
Half and toast the buns. Top with a spoonful of ricotta or crème fraiche and sliced, fresh or roasted fruit (this can be figs, peaches or even pears), then drizzle with honey.
Great pudding snack I say… and you can use anything you like. Try to be as creative as possible and enjoy!

3. Hot cross bun pudding
Slice 6 to 8 buns and arrange in an oven proof dish. Whisk a little cream with PnP custard or even Ultramel and pour over buns. Bake at 180˚C.

4. Caramelized chilli hot cross bun fingers
Here you half the bus again then you slice it into ‘fingers’. Mix a pinch of chilli flakes with castor sugar and toss through the bun slices. Heat a non-stick pan or tin and cook to caramelise till golden. This can be served with good quality filter coffee or hot chocolate.

5. And lastly: Hot cross French toast
Slice buns into 3 slices and dunk in beaten eggs (you can sweeten the eggs with a little castor sugar if you want). Fry in a non-stick pan until both sides are golden brown and cooked through. Serve with a mixture of finely grated orange peel, brown sugar and a little cinnamon. You can also use golden syrup or even chocolate sauce…

I must add that I’m a huge fan of the PnP magazine team and absolutely love the recipes!
Like I said right at the beginning that I know I’m a bit out with the time but I still want to share this with you.
Well, till next time my beautiful people*
Ciao for now…

Source: PnP Fresh Living magazine: April 2012 Issue

 

2 Responses to “Easter holidays (2)”

  1. Lynton Spies Says:

    Super like! Thanx for providing recipes to make certain food-sorts, but thanx especially for sharing the food we really need, and that is the Word of God


Leave a comment